Using Mobiles Abroad

Discussion in 'Accepted/Current ICP Participants' started by scarlettheart, Jan 18, 2010.

1. scarlettheart

scarlettheart New Member

Hello everyone!

I was just wondering what previous ICPers have done about using their mobiles abroad :)

Did you buy a new sim or a new phone?

Or did you just use your UK mobile and use the internet instead?

Been looking on the Orange website and they are mentioning Tri-Band...

I'm not very good with technology.... Help would be appreciated lol!

Thanks in advance!!!

x

2. katiej22

katiej22 New Member

My phone is a tri-band, so I used it the first couple of days.
    But, it's REALLLY expensive to do that! Most people just bought a cheap PAYG from Walmart and used that - ususlly the T-mobile one (what I had, and it will still work when I visit if I add credit, and keep some on, but it only lasts a year/90 days depending on the type - sorry that's so confusing!) or an AT&T one.
    One thing to remember though is that they work in minutes there, rather than actual credit (although T-mobile tells you both), so a text may use half a minute of credit. They also charge to recieve incoming calls (although it is less than a UK mobile!)

Some of them won't call abroad either. T-mobile's did. I used to phone home, and then they would call me back. A 15 minute conversation would be about $7, which wasn't too bad, and useful when I couldn't get on skype!

It's really useful to keep in touch with everyone over there if you all have US phones, much cheaper than UK ones!
    xx

3. scarlettheart

scarlettheart New Member

I'm due an upgrade this Friday so I think I'll ask them for a tri-band one!
    And then maybe just buy a sim when I'm over there. That's crazy that they charge in minutes, I'm confused enough already lol!
    I'm a chatterbox, gonna find restricting the phone calls home hard!

x

4. catfish278

catfish278 Member