Tax questions

Discussion in 'Alumni Discussion' started by Zanitta, Jan 30, 2007.

1. Zanitta

Zanitta Member

Okay, I just recieved what I think is my W2 form (I worked in the IP 2005-6) but nothing else! so I have no idea how to file it or anything, can anybody help me? I know there is a tax guide on the left there but it hasn't been updated since 2002 so I thought it better to check.

Edit: also, is it possible to file online?

2. jenmacp

jenmacp New Member

Okay, I am NOT an expert by any way, but I've recently been looking into it myself....

I believe you have to file this form:
    http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1040nr.pdf

here is the help doc for it:
    http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/i1040nr.pdf

Edited to add: you can also use this form if you don't have any interest on US bank accounts or charitable donations you wish to deduct. From what I understand as per line 9a in the above info doc, you don't need to claim interest as income in you are a nonresident alien.

Easier, shorter form:
    http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1040nre.pdf

I think you have to pay to file electronically through an accounting firm or financial organization. I think i'm going to get about $800USD back but will owe the Canadian gov't, like, $5,000. Ick.

~ Jen

3. this whole tax thing is a nightmare, the questions are soooo confusing, im stuck on the first 1, name and initial, which inital????????????????????????????????????

4. Zanitta

Zanitta Member

Okay, hopefully last question. It asks if I files my taxes before, I did for the 2005 taxes (I worked sept-sept so filed in jan/feb time) and it's asking me what form number I used but I have no idea, did anyone from the commons use the people who came to do our taxes (and so hopefully know?), or is it just the same form as I'm doing noe (1040nr-ez)

5. jenmacp

jenmacp New Member

The first letter of your middle name is the initial to which they refer

6. ellen101

ellen101 New Member