Applying from Australia in 2011

Discussion in 'ICP Applicants Discussion' started by ashkimo, Apr 27, 2010.

1. ashkimo

ashkimo New Member

So I'm currently in my 3rd year of university at Monash in Melbourne and I have one year to go! I am thinking about applying for the program to go in either 2011 or 2012 but I'm kind of skeptical about leaving everyone behind for 3 or so months!

I'm easily used to working hard and crazy hours - I manage a Boost Juice when I'm not at uni and before that I worked at a restaurant!

What does everyone think? What are the big positives/negatives to the trip?

xx

2. kimmiedancer

kimmiedancer New Member

Hi there :)

I'm a NZer and our prgramme (NZ and Aussies) is joined. We actually don't have a 3 month programme, it's a 6 or 12 month option.

I am doing it because it'll be a great experience. It is a lot of set up costs - like plane ticket, visa etc, but I think the experience will be amazing, and look great on your CV.

There's a tonne of staff discounts and you get into the 4 non water parks for free. Also you are in the centre of like themepark paradise - theres the 4 busch gardens ones in Tampa, the 2 universal ones (in new Harry Potter park) as well as the 6 disney parks! There will lots of people in the same boat as you so you'll have lots of support, plus it's a lot easier to get to work in the USA through a programme like this than another one.
    The rent includes everything like internet and electricity, pool, gym which makes it really cheap! It's a pretty good deal. You'll get to be more independent and you're gonna be leaving home eventually at some point, so why not make it awesome?
    PLUS there HEAPS of fun and exciting people to meet and places to go! Think how cultured you'll be after?